To Be Equal

To Be Equal is a syndicated weekly column by National Urban League President Marc H. Morial, which is distributed to more than 400 newspapers and websites nationwide. Each week's topic focuses on issues affecting both African American's and the nation as a whole. Started in 1963 by CEO Whitney M. Young, Jr., as "The Voice of Black America," the column was immediately picked up by major newspapers and radio stations across the country. Today, the To Be Equal column continues to present a unique insight on national and international issues.

Datesort ascending Column Title
Friday, October 13, 2017 TBE#83 - Randall Woodfin: A Son of Birmingham Becomes its Mayor
Thursday, October 5, 2017 TBE#82 - Fake Math Fuels Trump’s Lopsided, Lousy Tax Reform
Thursday, September 28, 2017 TBE#81 - Racist Extremism Remains a Crisis in the United States
Wednesday, September 27, 2017 TBE#81 - RACIST EXTREMISM REMAINS A CRISIS IN THE UNITED STATES
Wednesday, September 20, 2017 TBE#80 - AS STUDENTS HEAD BACK TO SCHOOL, THE URBAN LEAGUE SUPPORTS THEIR PLANS SUCCESS
Friday, September 15, 2017 TBE#79 - REINSTATE DACA AND PROTECT DREAMERS
Friday, September 8, 2017 TBE#78 - TRIBUTE TO HARRIET TUBMAN IS A STEP FORWARD; ABANDONING PLAN WOULD BE A GRAVE MISTAKE
Saturday, September 2, 2017 TBE#77 - The Nation Must Come Together to Help Hurricane Harvey Victims Rebuild
Wednesday, August 23, 2017 TBE#78 - Dick Gregory Pioneered Using Comedy As a Weapon Against Racism
Friday, August 18, 2017 TBE#77 - The Right Side of Charlottesville
Friday, August 11, 2017 TBE#76 - Affirmative Action: Dissecting Rhetoric From Reality
Wednesday, August 2, 2017 TBE#75 - FERGUSON EMPOWERMENT CENTER A TRIBUTE TO MOVEMENT FOR SOCIAL CHANGE THAT FOLLOWED MICHAEL BROWN’S DEATH
Wednesday, July 19, 2017 TBE#74 - 50 Years of Black Mayors
Thursday, July 13, 2017 TBE#73 - Civil Rights Icon Rev. Barber Charts New Course Down Beaten Paths
Wednesday, July 5, 2017 TBE#72 - STATE ELECTED OFFICIALS DEFY SHAM ELECTION COMMISSION – IT’S TIME TO SHUT IT DOWN
Thursday, June 29, 2017 TBE#71 - Give Us the Ballot: Restore the Voting Rights Act
Wednesday, June 21, 2017 TBE#70 - Jay-Z's Father's Day Gesture Brings Focus to Prisons, Poverty and the Price of Freedom
Sunday, June 18, 2017 TBE#69 - Why the Paris Accord is Important for Black America
Wednesday, June 7, 2017 TBE#68 - Back to the Future: Civil Rights, Wade Henderson, and the Next Generation
Wednesday, May 31, 2017 TBE#67 - Remembering the Life and Legacy of John F. Kennedy at 100

Pages