To Be Equal

To Be Equal is a syndicated weekly column by National Urban League President Marc H. Morial, which is distributed to more than 400 newspapers and websites nationwide. Each week's topic focuses on issues affecting both African American's and the nation as a whole. Started in 1963 by CEO Whitney M. Young, Jr., as "The Voice of Black America," the column was immediately picked up by major newspapers and radio stations across the country. Today, the To Be Equal column continues to present a unique insight on national and international issues.

Datesort ascending Column Title
Wednesday, April 16, 2014 TBE#15 - Voting in November 2014 Midterm Elections More Important Than Ever
Thursday, April 10, 2014 TBE#14 - The Ryan Budget Is a Path to Economic Disaster
Tuesday, April 1, 2014 TBE#13 - 2014 State of Black America® Spotlights the Nation’s Great Divide – and Points to Even Greater Solutions
Wednesday, March 26, 2014 TBE#12 - National Urban League Endorses Common Core State Standards, Part 3: Study Reveals Overwhelming Confidence in CCSS
Wednesday, March 19, 2014 TBE#11 - Cesar Chavez Day Calls Us to Unite to End Poverty and Honor the Dignity of Work
Wednesday, March 12, 2014 TBE#10 - National Urban League Endorses Common Core State Standards – Part Two: Closing the Achievement Gap
Tuesday, March 4, 2014 TBE#9 - President Obama Rallies Help for Young Males of Color with “My Brother’s Keeper” Initiative
Tuesday, February 25, 2014 TBE#8 - National Urban League Endorses Common Core State Standards – Here’s Why: Part One
Wednesday, February 19, 2014 TBE#7 - Justice for Jordan: What the Dunn Verdict Says About Our Culture – and the Value that We Place on Young Black Males in America
Tuesday, February 11, 2014 TBE#6 - Black History Month: Now More Than Ever
Tuesday, February 4, 2014 TBE#5 - New York to End Stop-and-Frisk As We Know It
Tuesday, January 28, 2014 TBE#4 - The Great Divide of Income Inequality: A Domestic Crisis on the World’s Stage
Tuesday, January 21, 2014 TBE#3 - Remembering the Life and Legacy of Amiri Baraka
Tuesday, January 14, 2014 TBE#2 - Holder and Duncan Reform Outdated School Discipline Policies
Monday, January 6, 2014 TBE#1 - Mayor Bill de Blasio Promises Progressive Change for New York City
Tuesday, December 31, 2013 TBE#52 - Top 10 News Events of 2013
Wednesday, December 18, 2013 TBE#51 - Pope Francis Joins Calls to End Economic Inequality
Tuesday, December 10, 2013 TBE#50 - What Mandela Meant to America
Monday, December 2, 2013 TBE#49 - Affordable Care Act: A New Weapon in the Fight Against AIDS
Wednesday, November 27, 2013 TBE#48 - Senate Disarms Weapon of Mass Obstruction

Pages