To Be Equal

To Be Equal is a syndicated weekly column by National Urban League President Marc H. Morial, which is distributed to more than 400 newspapers and websites nationwide. Each week's topic focuses on issues affecting both African American's and the nation as a whole. Started in 1963 by CEO Whitney M. Young, Jr., as "The Voice of Black America," the column was immediately picked up by major newspapers and radio stations across the country. Today, the To Be Equal column continues to present a unique insight on national and international issues.

Datesort ascending Column Title
Thursday, December 7, 2017 TBE #91 - President's Claim To Be Above the Law is "An Affront to the Very Principle on Which Our System is Built"
Thursday, November 30, 2017 TBE #90 - Honor World AIDS Day by Fighting to Preserve Access to Health Care
Tuesday, November 21, 2017 TBE#89 - “NO SUCCESS WITHOUT A SUCCESSOR:” URBAN LEAGUE 25
Thursday, November 16, 2017 TBE #88 - History of Thanksgiving in the U.S. Is a Quest for Unity
Thursday, November 9, 2017 TBE#87 - OSCAR-WINNER MAHERSHALA ALI’S DIVERSE CAREER, COMMITMENT TO SOCIAL JUSTICE, EARN ACCOLADES FROM NATIONAL URBAN LEAGUE
Friday, November 3, 2017 On the 100th Anniversary of Fannie Lou Hamer’s Birth, Find Inspiration to Fight for Voting Rights
Thursday, October 26, 2017 TBE#85 - The Digital Revolution Will be Powered by Black Millennials  
Friday, October 20, 2017 TBE#84 - NFL Must "Provide a Better Platform" on Racism and Criminal Justice Reform
Friday, October 13, 2017 TBE#83 - Randall Woodfin: A Son of Birmingham Becomes its Mayor
Thursday, October 5, 2017 TBE#82 - Fake Math Fuels Trump’s Lopsided, Lousy Tax Reform
Thursday, September 28, 2017 TBE#81 - Racist Extremism Remains a Crisis in the United States
Wednesday, September 27, 2017 TBE#81 - RACIST EXTREMISM REMAINS A CRISIS IN THE UNITED STATES
Wednesday, September 20, 2017 TBE#80 - AS STUDENTS HEAD BACK TO SCHOOL, THE URBAN LEAGUE SUPPORTS THEIR PLANS SUCCESS
Friday, September 15, 2017 TBE#79 - REINSTATE DACA AND PROTECT DREAMERS
Friday, September 8, 2017 TBE#78 - TRIBUTE TO HARRIET TUBMAN IS A STEP FORWARD; ABANDONING PLAN WOULD BE A GRAVE MISTAKE
Saturday, September 2, 2017 TBE#77 - The Nation Must Come Together to Help Hurricane Harvey Victims Rebuild
Wednesday, August 23, 2017 TBE#78 - Dick Gregory Pioneered Using Comedy As a Weapon Against Racism
Friday, August 18, 2017 TBE#77 - The Right Side of Charlottesville
Friday, August 11, 2017 TBE#76 - Affirmative Action: Dissecting Rhetoric From Reality
Wednesday, August 2, 2017 TBE#75 - FERGUSON EMPOWERMENT CENTER A TRIBUTE TO MOVEMENT FOR SOCIAL CHANGE THAT FOLLOWED MICHAEL BROWN’S DEATH

Pages