To Be Equal

To Be Equal is a syndicated weekly column by National Urban League President Marc H. Morial, which is distributed to more than 400 newspapers and websites nationwide. Each week's topic focuses on issues affecting both African American's and the nation as a whole. Started in 1963 by CEO Whitney M. Young, Jr., as "The Voice of Black America," the column was immediately picked up by major newspapers and radio stations across the country. Today, the To Be Equal column continues to present a unique insight on national and international issues.

Datesort ascending Column Title
Wednesday, February 25, 2015 TBE#8 - Giuliani's Words Do More than Hurt - They Divide
Tuesday, February 17, 2015 TBE#7 - Facing Hard Truths – The Rhetoric of Race at the Crossroads of Police Reform and the Word of FBI Director Comey
Wednesday, February 11, 2015 TBE#6 - Malcolm X to El-Hajj Malik El-Shabazz – The Metamorphosis of a Militant in Mecca
Wednesday, February 4, 2015 TBE#5 - Super Bowl Rematch Needed – Tackling the Noise Before (and After) the Big Game
Wednesday, January 28, 2015 TBE#4 - It’s Time for Hollywood to Act Like Diversity Matters
Wednesday, January 21, 2015 TBE#3 -  Selma – A Historic Drama Reflective of Modern Reality
Wednesday, January 14, 2015 TBE#2 - More Credit and More Challenges on Jobs for Obama
Thursday, January 8, 2015 TBE#1 - Remembering Cuomo, Brooke and Scott
Thursday, December 18, 2014 TBE#49 - This Is Why We March
Wednesday, December 17, 2014 TBE#49 - This Is Why We March
Thursday, December 11, 2014 TBE#48 - 10-Point Justice Plan: National Urban League Police Reform and Accountability Recommendations
Friday, December 5, 2014 TBE#47 - Mel Watt Lowers Mortgage Down Payment Requirement
Friday, November 21, 2014 TBE#46 - Gun Safety and Minimum Wage Big Winners in Midterm Elections
Thursday, November 13, 2014 TBE#45 - President Obama Nominates Loretta Lynch for Attorney General – and We Applaud
Wednesday, November 5, 2014 TBE#44 - National Urban League Survey Finds African American Parents Overwhelmingly Support Equitable Implementation of Common Core State Standards
Wednesday, October 29, 2014 TBE#43 - November 4th – Vote with a Vengeance!
Wednesday, October 22, 2014 TBE#42 - Federal Reserve Chair Janet Yellen Talks about Income Inequality
Wednesday, October 15, 2014 TBE#41 - Voter ID Laws Tumble in Texas and Wisconsin – and Then Rise Again in Texas
Tuesday, October 7, 2014 TBE#40 - National Urban League and One Solution Team Up to Urge the Nation to "Put Our Children 1st"
Wednesday, October 1, 2014 TBE#39 - A Champion for Equal Justice for All – Attorney General Eric Holder Bids Farewell

Pages