To Be Equal

To Be Equal is a syndicated weekly column by National Urban League President Marc H. Morial, which is distributed to more than 400 newspapers and websites nationwide. Each week's topic focuses on issues affecting both African American's and the nation as a whole. Started in 1963 by CEO Whitney M. Young, Jr., as "The Voice of Black America," the column was immediately picked up by major newspapers and radio stations across the country. Today, the To Be Equal column continues to present a unique insight on national and international issues.

Datesort ascending Column Title
Wednesday, July 5, 2017 TBE#72 - STATE ELECTED OFFICIALS DEFY SHAM ELECTION COMMISSION – IT’S TIME TO SHUT IT DOWN
Thursday, June 29, 2017 TBE#71 - Give Us the Ballot: Restore the Voting Rights Act
Wednesday, June 21, 2017 TBE#70 - Jay-Z's Father's Day Gesture Brings Focus to Prisons, Poverty and the Price of Freedom
Sunday, June 18, 2017 TBE#69 - Why the Paris Accord is Important for Black America
Wednesday, June 7, 2017 TBE#68 - Back to the Future: Civil Rights, Wade Henderson, and the Next Generation
Wednesday, May 31, 2017 TBE#67 - Remembering the Life and Legacy of John F. Kennedy at 100
Wednesday, May 24, 2017 TBE#66 - Trump Administration Charts a Course to Criminal Injustice
Wednesday, May 17, 2017 TBE#65 - Weapon of Mass Deception: Shut Down Trump’s Sham Voting Fraud Commission
Wednesday, May 10, 2017 TBE#64 - “NATIONAL URBAN LEAGUE PRESENTS: STATE OF BLACK AMERICA” TO AIR MAY 31
Wednesday, May 3, 2017 TBE#63 - 2017 State of Black America: Protect our Progress
Tuesday, April 25, 2017 TBE#62 - Forced Out at Fox: The King of Cable News Gets Canceled
Wednesday, April 19, 2017 TBE#61 - AMERICA NEEDS – AND DESPERATELY WANTS – COMPREHENSIVE INFRASTRUCTURE INVESTMENT
Wednesday, April 12, 2017 TBE#60 - IN A VICTORY FOR VOTING RIGHTS, TEXAS I.D. LAW STRUCK DOWN A FIFTH TIME
Wednesday, April 5, 2017 TBE#59 - NATIONAL URBAN LEAGUE MOURNS THE LOSS OF CIVIL RIGHTS CHAMPION ROGER WILKINS
Thursday, March 30, 2017 TBE#58 - "SKINNY BUDGET:" FEDERAL BUDGET PROPOSAL ABANDONS AMERICAN CITIZENS IN FAVOR OF DEFENSE CONTRACTORS
Wednesday, March 22, 2017 TBE#57 - SUPREME COURT NOMINEE GORSUCH HAS NOT MET THE CIVIL RIGHTS STANDARD TO EARN OUR SUPPORT
Wednesday, March 15, 2017 TBE#56 - AMERICAN HEALTH CARE ACT:  UN-AMERICAN, UN-HEALTHY, AND UN-CARING
Wednesday, March 8, 2017 TBE#55 -VIOLA DAVIS: A HISTORIC TALENT EARNS A HISTORIC DISTINCTION
Tuesday, February 28, 2017 TBE#54 - Repeat Offense: Private Prisons Resurrection Represents Pay-To-Play
Wednesday, February 22, 2017 TBE#53 - CLAIMS OF “FAKE NEWS” ARE AN INSULT TO AN INSTITUTION THAT HAS RISKED LIVES TO ADVANCE LIBERTY

Pages