To Be Equal

To Be Equal is a syndicated weekly column by National Urban League President Marc H. Morial, which is distributed to more than 400 newspapers and websites nationwide. Each week's topic focuses on issues affecting both African American's and the nation as a whole. Started in 1963 by CEO Whitney M. Young, Jr., as "The Voice of Black America," the column was immediately picked up by major newspapers and radio stations across the country. Today, the To Be Equal column continues to present a unique insight on national and international issues.

Datesort ascending Column Title
Wednesday, May 23, 2018 TBE#21 - Centuries Before Meghan, the Ancestry of Another Royal Wielded Far-Ranging Influence on the World
Thursday, May 17, 2018 TBE#20 - Diane Nash: A Civil Rights Icon Celebrates her 80th Birthday
Thursday, May 10, 2018 TBE#19 - Congressional Black Caucus Introduces Bill Based on Main Street Marshall Plan
Friday, May 4, 2018 TBE#18 - State of Black America® Finds African-Americans Drastically Underrepresented in Tech Industries
Wednesday, April 25, 2018 TBE#17 - Honor the Memory of Nashville Victims by Voting for Leaders Who Support Gun Reforms
Wednesday, April 18, 2018 TBE#16 - Starbucks Arrests Show Implicit Bias is Hiding in Plain Sight
Thursday, April 12, 2018 TBE#15 - 50 Years After the Fair Housing Act, America Has a Long Way to Go Toward Ending Segregation
Friday, April 6, 2018 TBE#14 - 10,000 Small Businesses Has Potential to Close the Racial Wealth Gap
Thursday, March 29, 2018 TBE#13 - #MLK50 – Where Do We Go From Here?
Wednesday, March 21, 2018 TBE#12 - March For Our Lives Follows a Venerable American Tradition of Student Social Activism
Wednesday, March 14, 2018 TBE#11 - RAZOR-THIN ELECTION RESULTS SHOW THE IMPORTANCE OF VOTING
Wednesday, March 7, 2018 TBE#10 - Lights, Camera, Inclusion Riders: Reflecting Reality on and off Screen
Wednesday, February 28, 2018 TBE#9 - Black (Immigrant) Lives Matter
Wednesday, February 21, 2018 TBE#8 - Nothing Stands In The Way Of Gun Reform But Lack of Courage and Political Will. The Teens of Parkland Have Both
Friday, February 16, 2018 TBE #7 - Black Panther is the Superhero – and Heroines – We Deserve
Friday, February 2, 2018 TBE #6 - Urban Leaguers Are Ready to Fight for a Fair and Accurate 2020 Census
Friday, January 26, 2018 TBE#4 - Will Congress Keep Its Promise to the Dreamers?
Wednesday, January 17, 2018 TBE#3 - Haiti Slur: Reprehensible, but not Surprising
Wednesday, January 10, 2018 TBE#2 - Passing the Baton: Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Anti-Poverty Crusade  Experiences a 21st Century Revival
Wednesday, January 3, 2018 TBE#1 - 2018 marks the 50th Anniversary of a Momentous Year in Civil Rights

Pages